This is impossible to delete a Skype account permanently from user side. Because Microsoft won’t delete your Skype account until 30 days after you mark it for deletion. Microsoft wait for 30 days before closing your Skype account to verify your identity and protect your account from accidentally or maliciously being closed. If you’re not interested in using Skype account, you may remove your personal information from Skype database, making it impossible for others to find your account. Deleting a Skype account permanently is a multi-step process, you’ll need to remove payment method, cancel any subscription, unlink your Microsoft account from your Skype and more.
If you close Skype account, you’ll no longer be able to sing in to other Microsoft products or services such as Outlook.com, Office Online, OneDrive, Xbox Live, and Windows. Before you delete Skype account, make sure you aren’t leaving anything important behind.
- Important information such as files and contacts are saved.
- Your Skype Credit balance has been used because you can’t get it back, once your account is closed.
- Active subscriptions have been cancelled so you don’t continue to get charged.
- Unlink a Microsoft account from your Skype account.
- Removing your Skype profile information.
Tip : If you have Auto-recharge enabled and cancel your account without first cancelling your subscription, you will continue to be charged until your account has been permanently closed in 30 days.
How To Delete Skype Account Permanently
1#. Remove Skype Profile Information :
Change your profile picture under My info and select Remove profile picture. Also update your status like “Hey, I’m no longer available on Skype”. Now set your status to offline or invisible, go to My Info > Status > File > Change Status.
To sign out of Skype on all your devices, type the chat command /remotelogout into the chat windows on one of your Skype device, and also don’t forget to sign out of Skype on the device you’re using now.
Login to your Skype account and delete your entire personal information such as name, phone number, and address.
2#. Delete Skype Account From The Login Screen :
To delete your account from the login screen, close Skype, and click on your computer’s Start menu. Type Run and press Enter. Then type %appdata%\Skype and click on OK. Delete the folder with the name of your Skype account.
3#. Delete Skype Account Permanently :
- Head to Microsoft account deletion page and enter your Skype login information to sign in.
- Verify your identity by click either Text or Email, then type in the last four digits of your phone number or your full email address.
- After identity verification, it will redirected to warning page “Before you mark this account for closure, you’ll want to” Cancel any subscription, Use all of your Skype credit, Use up your account balance, Set up automatic email replies, Disable reset protection, click Next.
- Now tick each box on the page and select a reason for closing the account. Just click “My reason isn’t listed” in the drop-down menu, if you don’t’ have a reason.
- Finally, click “Mark account for closure”. done!
When you tap or click the Mark account for closure button, Microsoft wait 30 days before permanently deleting your Microsoft account in case you change your mind or need to access something on the account before it’s gone forever.
I hope you liked the article, how to delete Skype account permanently. If you need any help, drop a line in the comment section.